Monday, May 06, 2013

Shirley Jackson Award Finalist: Delphine Dodd

"In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic."

I am happy to announce that Delphine Dodd, first in a series of three novellas related to my novel Knock Knock, is a finalist for a Shirley Jackson Award. It's wonderful news and I couldn't be happier.

Thanks to the jurors, and congratulations to all of the nominees! Here is the complete list.

    The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (ROC)
    The Devil in Silver, Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau)
    Edge, Koji Suzuki (Vertical, Inc.)
    Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn (Crown Publishers)
    Immobility, Brian Evenson (Tor)


    28 Teeth of Rage, Ennis Drake (Omnium Gatherum Media)
    Delphine Dodd, S.P. Miskowski (Omnium Gatherum Media)
    I’m Not Sam, Jack Ketchum and Lucky McKee (Sinister Grin Press/ Cemetery Dance Publications)
    The Indifference Engine, Project Itoh (Haikasoru/VIZ Media LLC)
    “Sky,” Kaaron Warren (Through Splintered Walls, Twelfth Planet Press)


    “The Crying Child,” Bruce McAllister (originally “The Bleeding Child,” Cemetery Dance #68)
    “The House on Ashley Avenue,” Ian Rogers (Every House is Haunted, ChiZine Publications)
    “Reeling for the Empire,” Karen Russell (Tin House, Winter 2012)
    “Wild Acre,” Nathan Ballingrud (Visions, Fading Fast, Pendragon Press)
    “The Wish Head,” Jeffrey Ford (Crackpot Palace, William Morrow)


    “Bajazzle,” Margo Lanagan (Cracklescape, Twelfth Planet Press)
    “How We Escaped Our Certain Fate,” Dan Chaon (21st Century Dead, St. Martin’s)
    “Little America,” Dan Chaon (Shadow Show: All New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, William Morrow)
    “The Magician’s Apprentice,” Tamsyn Muir (Weird Tales #359)
    “A Natural History of Autumn,” Jeffrey Ford (Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July/August 2012)
    “Two Houses,” Kelly Link (Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, William Morrow)


    Crackpot Palace, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)
    Errantry, Elizabeth Hand (Small Beer Press)
    The Pottawatomie Giant and Other Stories, Andy Duncan (PS Publishing)
    Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)
    The Woman Who Married a Cloud, Jonathan Carroll (Subterranean Press)
    Windeye, Brian Evenson (Coffee House Press)


    21st Century Dead, edited by Christopher Golden (St. Martin’s)
    Black Wings II, edited by S. T. Joshi (PS Publishing)
    Exotic Gothic 4:  Postscripts #28/29, edited by Danel Olson (PS Publishing)
    Night Shadows, edited by Greg Herren and J. M.  Redmann (Bold Strokes Books)
    Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, edited by Sam Weller and Mort Castle (William Morrow)

This year’s awards will be presented on Sunday, July 14th at Readercon 24, in Burlington, Massachusetts.


James Everington said...

Nice work, and well deserved. Good luck!

S.P. Miskowski said...

Thanks very much! I'm happy to be included.